Just do it!

Yesterday I was working with a woman who is studying for he driving test. A few minutes into our “chat”, I asked her to do something. Her response was:”I will try”. I have a question for you: What happens when you try to open a door? What happens when you try to clean up your room? When you start to think about it, you will realize the obvious…the door stays closed and your room stays in roughly the same state it was in before!

We use words to represent the world we experience. Words are the only way we can truly communicate our experiences, feelings and sensations. How then is it that we choose to ignore the connotations of those same words? Why is it that we believe they are just words, when really they are so much more than that!

Trying something new can be a great thing. Trying new food, trying anything new, is in and by itself a good thing. The problem arises when we try do get something done, when we try to do a task. The word trying implies failure. It is a way for us to justify not succeeding.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I personally prefer stacking the odds in my favor when I need to do something. I like to give myself the biggest possible chance to succeed in my endeavors, and although it might only be a small step, this starts with representing those things properly to myself and others.

So, for now, take the little step of not trying. Stop trying to do something and just, well, do them. Pick the right words and your chances of success do increase, and help others to do the same. Notice how often people “try” to do things! For yourself, just do it…

2 thoughts on “Just do it!

  1. Julian says:

    Its a lot to do with thinking. If you think you can’t do it you probably can’t. when ever I spend time with students in mentoring sessions i am always getting them to think differently, to change from the ‘I would like to’ phrase to the more purposeful ‘I am going to’. One is a good intention the other has a sense of ownwership and hopefully will generate the right actions as well.

    So..I agree, just do it!!

  2. Alvin says:

    Yea, try a lot of things and keep whatever that works. But once you found out what works, then don’t just say “i will try”, but “i will do it”.

Leave a Reply

